What is BIO-control ?

The BIO or Organic certification gives our customers the guarantee of pure agricultural and natural origin (and therefore non-chemical) of our raw materials, thereby excluding any GMO, pesticide or chemical herbicide, synthetic fertiliser or sewage sludge. It also guarantees a higher environmental and animal respect.

Concerning livestock (the cows), the certification ensures that no preventative antibiotics and no growth hormones were administered to livestock and that it has not been fed with animal-based fodder. Furthermore, the livestock needs to have sufficient light, air and space to move naturally. Our cows have enormous meadows at their disposal, and this from February to November. They are fed with outstanding quality fat grass. It rains a lot in Belgium. This has not only downside.

Organic certification can be obtained from 95% of organic components. At Sikou, all our recipes are 100% certified Organic. From a more practical point of view the controlling consists of a minimum of two annual checks. One of which is by appointment, the other unexpected while controler takes samples in order to analyse more than 50 components. by a certified laboratory.

But Organic certification is not sufficient in itself to ensure good finished products. Organic certification ensures compliancy to certain specifications which entail that the product is healthy, from natural origin in due respect of environment and animals well-being. On the other hand, certification does not guarantees integrity of raw materials molecule structure, nor any know-how of rule of art, nor the switch of raw quality material by ersatz.

By manufacturing natural and raw materials in our worshop, or using homemade flavors, Sikou goes much further than making organic ice cream.

This amalgam has often been used and the concerne about know-how and chosen raw materials remains paramount.

Sikou ice cream means therefore much more than just an organic ice cream.

Qu'est-ce que le contrôle bio ?

La certification Bio apporte à nos clients la garantie d’une origine purement agricole et naturelle (et donc non chimique), de nos matières premières, excluant tout OGM, pesticide, fertilisant de synthèse ou boue d’épuration, et assure également une agriculture plus respectueuse de notre environnent et des animaux.

Concernant les élevages (nos vaches), la certification garantit qu’aucun antibiotique préventif ni aucune hormone de croissance n’ont été administrés au bétail et que ce dernier n’a pas été nourri de farines animales. Enfin, celui-ci doit par ailleurs disposer de lumière, d’air et d’espace suffisants pour pouvoir bouger naturellement. Nos vaches disposent, elles, d’étendues de prairies énormes et ce, de février à novembre, et se nourrissent donc d'herbe grasse d'une exceptionnelle qualité. Il pleut beaucoup en Belgique, mais cela n'a pas que des désavantages.

La certification Bio peut-être obtenue à partir de 95% de composants Bio. Chez Sikou, toutes nos recettes sont certifiées 100% Bio. D’un point de vue plus pratique, ce contrôle consiste en deux contrôles annuels minimum, l’un sur rendez-vous, l’autre de façon inopinée avec prélèvement et une cinquantaine d’analyses en laboratoires agréés.

Mais la certification Bio n'est pas suffisante en soi pour garantir de bons produits finis. La certification Bio garantit le respect d’un cahier des charges démontrant que le produit est sain, c’est-à-dire d'origine naturelle et respectueux de notre environnement et de l’animal. En revanche, la certification Bio ne garantit pas l’intégrité moléculaire de la matière première, ni qu’elle a été travaillée dans les règles de l’art ou sans le recours à des ersatz. Nos matières premières achetées brutes et transformées dans nos ateliers offre une garantie à nos clients qui va plus loin que la certification Bio.

Cet amalgame est trop souvent fait et la question du savoir-faire et des choix qui sont faits en terme de coût de revient et de procédés utilisés, reste donc centrale. Sikou est donc bien plus que des sorbets et des crèmes glacées Bio.